TL;DR
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
The 2026 Toyota RAV4 Woodland PHEV combines a plug-in hybrid system rated at 324 horsepower with nearly 50 miles of electric-only range and styling and equipment aimed at light outdoor use. The Drive’s review found it comfortable and capable on rough dirt, but its extra ground clearance is modest and its electric range falls slightly short of other PHEV trims.
The 2026 Toyota RAV4 Woodland PHEV pairs a plug-in hybrid powertrain with all-terrain tires and trail-themed styling, but a review by The Drive found its strongest case is everyday electric driving rather than serious off-roading. The review says the Woodland delivered real-world electric range within two miles of Toyota’s 49-mile estimate; its price is described in the review headline as about $48,000.
Toyota’s RAV4 plug-in hybrid lineup has four grades: SE, XSE, Woodland and GR Sport. The Woodland is rated at 49 miles of electric-only range and 94 MPGe combined, compared with 52 miles and 96 MPGe for the SE and XSE. It has 8.5 inches of ground clearance, versus 8.1 inches for those two trims, along with slightly better approach and departure angles.
The review attributes the Woodland’s additional clearance to its all-terrain tires, not a different suspension. Its exterior also gets roof rails, fender cladding and a Woodland-specific front fascia. Inside, the tester had patterned soft-touch panels, red-orange accents, heated SofTex-trimmed seats, all-weather mats and a cargo liner. The cabin includes a 10.5-inch touchscreen and 12.3-inch digital gauge cluster.
Toyota rates the PHEV system at 324 horsepower, generated by a 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine and electric motors at the front and rear. The Drive reports that acceleration felt immediate and that the handoff between electric and gasoline power was smooth. On a desert route near Apple Valley, California, the reviewer found the tires and clearance suitable for loose dirt, uneven ground and light brush, but did not encounter terrain demanding more substantial off-road equipment.
Electric Range Is the Woodland’s Case
The review’s central finding is that the Woodland’s plug-in system may offer more practical value than its trail-focused appearance. Nearly 50 miles of electric range could cover many daily commutes and errands for owners who can charge at home, while the gasoline engine remains available for longer trips. The reviewer estimates roughly 585 miles of combined range with a full charge and full tank.
That utility comes with trade-offs. Buyers choosing the Woodland give up a few miles of stated electric range and a small amount of efficiency compared with the SE and XSE, in exchange for modestly greater clearance, all-terrain tires and distinct styling. The Drive’s assessment is that shoppers who prioritize efficiency may prefer those other trims, while Woodland buyers should be seeking its equipment or appearance—not expecting a dedicated off-road vehicle.
Toyota RAV4 Woodland PHEV all-terrain tires
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Woodland Differs From Other Trims
The Woodland is one of four RAV4 PHEV grades, and the review describes their differences as relatively small. Against the SE and XSE, it has 0.4 inch more stated ground clearance and approach and departure angles each improved by one degree, while giving up three miles of quoted EV range. The all-terrain tires account for the clearance difference, according to the review.
In the tested vehicle, Level 1 household charging was too slow for convenient daily replenishment: the reviewer projected about 15 hours for a full charge and reached around 60 percent overnight. A Level 2 home charger was estimated to take 2.5 to 3 hours. The vehicle also supports DC fast charging, with the review reporting about 35 minutes for a 10-to-80-percent charge. Those figures are the reviewer’s reported experience and estimates, not a guarantee for every charger or condition.
“The plug-in hybrid capability is what really sets it apart.”
— Cy Soliman, The Drive reviewer
2026 Toyota RAV4 Woodland PHEV charging cable
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Price and Charging Depend on Use
The supplied review material does not provide a full pricing breakdown, including the Woodland’s exact starting price, options on the test vehicle or how its price compares with the other RAV4 PHEV grades. The about-$48,000 figure appears in the review headline; the source excerpt does not specify whether it is a starting price or the tested vehicle’s price.
Electric range and charging times can vary with driving conditions, temperature, battery state and charging equipment. The review reports its own test results, but the supplied material does not give a full testing protocol or independent, standardized measurements for each figure. It also does not establish how the Woodland performs on more difficult trails than the light terrain encountered in the review.
Toyota RAV4 Woodland PHEV cargo liner
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Match the Trim to Your Driving
Prospective buyers can compare the Woodland’s equipment and quoted price with the SE and XSE, particularly if electric range and efficiency matter more than all-terrain tires or styling. They should also check whether home Level 2 charging is practical, since the review found household Level 1 charging slow for regular full recharges. The supplied source does not identify a follow-up test or a future Toyota announcement, so further performance or pricing developments are not specified.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How much electric range does the 2026 RAV4 Woodland PHEV have?
Toyota’s stated figure in the review is 49 miles of electric-only range. The Drive reviewer reported real-world range within two miles of that estimate.
Is the Woodland a serious off-road SUV?
The review found it capable on loose dirt, uneven terrain and light brush, but says the test did not approach terrain requiring serious articulation or low-range gearing. It is better characterized as suitable for light trails than as a dedicated off-roader.
How does it compare with the RAV4 PHEV SE and XSE?
The Woodland is rated at 49 miles of EV range and 94 MPGe combined, versus 52 miles and 96 MPGe for the SE and XSE. It adds 0.4 inch of ground clearance and slightly improved approach and departure angles, with all-terrain tires contributing to the clearance.
How long does charging take?
The Drive estimated 2.5 to 3 hours with Level 2 charging and about 15 hours with Level 1 household charging. The reviewer also reported roughly 35 minutes for a 10-to-80-percent DC fast charge; actual times depend on charging equipment and conditions.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
