I compare three Mac Studio configurations for buyers choosing between newer M5 Max systems and a renewed M1 Max desktop. My overall pick is the M5 Max with AppleCare+ for demanding creative work and added service coverage; the M5 Max without AppleCare+ is the cleaner choice if you already have a support plan or prefer to decide on coverage separately. The renewed M1 Max suits a buyer whose workload fits its fixed 32GB of memory and 1TB SSD. The main tradeoffs are chip generation and headroom, support included with one listing, and how much uncertainty you accept in the renewed model’s condition and software details.
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
These are not three equivalent configurations. The two newer listings describe the same broad M5 Max platform, so their practical difference is chiefly the bundled AppleCare+ coverage and the detail provided in each listing. The M1 Max is a different generation with set memory and storage, making it a more constrained alternative rather than a like-for-like performance pick. I rank them around capability, configuration flexibility, support, and the clarity of the information supplied.
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The M5 Max listings are the picks for demanding professional work, with support for up to 128GB of memory and multiple external displays.
- The AppleCare+ M5 Max is my overall choice when three years of listed coverage is a priority; the core chip configuration is otherwise similar to the standard M5 Max listing.
- The standard M5 Max makes more sense if you want the newer platform but do not need AppleCare+ bundled in this specific listing.
- The renewed M1 Max comes with a defined 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD configuration, so its fit depends on whether those limits suit your applications and files.
- The renewed listing has inconsistent operating-system and memory details, so I would confirm the exact configuration and return terms before buying.
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip and AppleCare+ (3 Years) | ![]() | Best Overall — M5 Max capability with three years of listed AppleCare+ | Chip: Apple M5 Max | Memory: Configurations up to 128GB; exact selected capacity should be confirmed | Storage bandwidth: Listed as up to 614GB/s | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip | ![]() | Best M5 Max Without Bundled AppleCare+ — professional headroom with flexibility over coverage | Chip: Apple M5 Max | Memory: Up to 128GB | Storage: Up to 614GB/s bandwidth; exact SSD capacity not stated | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 Max Chip, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed) | ![]() | Best Renewed Configuration — fixed memory and storage for buyers with a defined workload | Chip: Apple M1 Max | CPU: 10-core | GPU: 24-core | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| mac studio configuration | Chip | Memory | Ports | Wireless |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop | Apple M5 Max | Configurations up to 128GB; exact selected capacity should be confirmed | 4 Thunderbolt 5, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, headphone jack | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6 |
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop | Apple M5 Max | Up to 128GB | 4 Thunderbolt 5, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, headphone jack | Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6 |
| 2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 | Apple M1 Max | 32GB RAM, as listed | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip and AppleCare+ (3 Years)
I rank this first for buyers who want a current Mac Studio platform and prefer service coverage included in the configuration. The M5 Max is specified for demanding media and AI workloads, while support for up to 128GB of memory gives room for projects that keep large assets or datasets active. Compared with the standard M5 Max listing, the important distinction here is the three-year AppleCare+ bundle, not a different stated chip or memory ceiling.
Its compact, 7.7-inch-square design still offers a substantial set of connections: four Thunderbolt 5 ports, two USB-C, two USB-A, HDMI, an SDXC slot, and a headphone jack. That spread can reduce the need for adapters when a desk setup mixes fast external storage, card-based media, and older USB devices. The listed support for up to five displays also makes it a stronger fit for a multi-screen studio than the renewed M1 Max entry, whose supplied description does not give an equivalent display claim.
The tradeoff is that the listing leaves some configuration details open: “up to 128GB” does not state the memory in the unit a buyer will receive, and the same applies to storage capacity. I would verify the selected build rather than assume the maximum is included. This is also more computer than casual browsing or light office work requires. The AppleCare+ bundle adds a clear ownership distinction, but buyers who already have coverage or would rather choose support separately may prefer the standard M5 Max listing.
Pros:- M5 Max platform is positioned for demanding media, graphics, and AI work.
- Supports configurations with up to 128GB of memory.
- Broad port selection includes Thunderbolt 5, HDMI, SDXC, USB-A, and USB-C.
- Three years of AppleCare+ is included in the listed configuration.
Cons:- The listing does not specify the memory and storage capacity of the exact unit.
- Professional-level capability may be unnecessary for everyday tasks.
- The AppleCare+ bundle may not suit buyers who prefer to select coverage separately.
Best for: Creative professionals, developers, and AI or media users who want an M5 Max Mac Studio and value three years of listed AppleCare+ coverage.
Not ideal for: Casual users, buyers who need a specific memory or SSD capacity confirmed upfront, or people who do not want support bundled into their configuration.
- Chip:Apple M5 Max
- Memory:Configurations up to 128GB; exact selected capacity should be confirmed
- Storage bandwidth:Listed as up to 614GB/s
- Ports:4 Thunderbolt 5, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, headphone jack
- Wireless:Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6
- Display support:Up to five external displays, according to the listing
- Dimensions:7.7 inches square
- Coverage:AppleCare+ for 3 years, as listed
Our verdict“I recommend this M5 Max configuration for professional buyers who want substantial performance headroom and three years of listed AppleCare+ coverage.”
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip

Best M5 Max Without Bundled AppleCare+ — professional headroom with flexibility over coverage
View on AmazonThis is my pick for buyers who want the M5 Max platform but do not need AppleCare+ included in the product listing. Its core capability overlaps heavily with the first-ranked option: both describe an M5 Max, memory configurations up to 128GB, Thunderbolt 5, and a compact desktop. I rank it just below the AppleCare+ bundle because that coverage is a practical ownership difference for a professional machine, not because this listing specifies weaker processing hardware.
The stated port selection is well suited to a working studio: four Thunderbolt 5 ports, two USB-C, two USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, and a headphone jack. Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6 add current wireless support, while the listed 5.94-pound weight gives a clearer sense of the enclosure than the other M5 Max description. If your work spans large media projects, connected storage, and several displays, this configuration offers a flexible base without taking over a full desk.
There are limits to what the listing confirms. It describes storage bandwidth and “up to 2x faster storage,” but does not state the SSD capacity selected in the unit. Buyers should distinguish that speed claim from usable storage space. It also provides little information about upgradeability or internal expansion, so I would plan around the configuration ordered and use external storage where appropriate. Compared with the renewed M1 Max, this is the better fit for buyers seeking the newer platform and connectivity; compared with the AppleCare+ model, the buyer gives up the listed coverage bundle.
Pros:- M5 Max chip is specified for professional, graphics-heavy, and AI workloads.
- Supports configurations with up to 128GB of memory.
- Includes Thunderbolt 5, HDMI, SDXC, USB-A, and USB-C connections.
- Compact 7.7-inch-square enclosure with listed weight of 5.94 pounds.
Cons:- No AppleCare+ bundle is identified in this listing.
- The exact memory and SSD capacity are not specified in the supplied description.
- The listing gives limited information about upgradeability and expansion.
Best for: Professional Mac users who want an M5 Max desktop, extensive modern ports, and the flexibility to handle support coverage separately.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want AppleCare+ included, need a confirmed SSD capacity before ordering, or mainly use a computer for basic tasks.
- Chip:Apple M5 Max
- Memory:Up to 128GB
- Storage:Up to 614GB/s bandwidth; exact SSD capacity not stated
- Ports:4 Thunderbolt 5, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, headphone jack
- Wireless:Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6
- Dimensions:7.7 inches square
- Weight:5.94 pounds
- Display support:Multiple external displays; exact count is not stated in the supplied description
Our verdict“I would choose this version when I want the M5 Max configuration but do not need the AppleCare+ bundle attached to the first pick.”
2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 Max Chip, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed)

Best Renewed Configuration — fixed memory and storage for buyers with a defined workload
View on AmazonThis renewed Mac Studio serves a different purpose from the two M5 Max options: it gives buyers a specified 32GB of RAM and 1TB SSD rather than an open-ended “up to” configuration. Its M1 Max has a 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU, which can still suit a defined creative or general professional workflow that does not call for the newer models’ stated memory ceiling and connectivity. I rank it third because it belongs to an older generation and the supplied listing has details that merit confirmation.
For someone comparing configurations, the advantage is certainty about the advertised memory and SSD capacity. That makes it easier to judge whether the machine can hold a working library locally and handle the applications in a planned setup. The M5 Max listings offer a higher stated memory ceiling and Thunderbolt 5, so they are the more suitable choices for users building a workstation around newer peripherals or larger projects. The M1 Max can make sense when those capabilities are not central and the fixed configuration matches the task.
Renewed condition introduces a different set of questions. The listing says the computer was inspected and tested and that compatible accessories are included, but those accessories are not original. It also gives an operating-system entry of macOS High Sierra and conflicting memory-type labels, so I would verify the actual installed system and hardware description with the seller. The product description mentions battery capacity even though this is a desktop, another reason to check the listing details carefully. Skip it if you need current-generation headroom, clear upgrade information, or a fully consistent specification sheet.
Pros:- Specified 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD make the listed configuration easy to compare with a known workload.
- M1 Max includes a 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU.
- Listing says the renewed computer was inspected and tested.
- Compact Mac Studio form remains suited to a dedicated desktop workspace.
Cons:- Older M1 Max generation lacks the newer M5 Max listings’ stated platform and Thunderbolt 5 details.
- Supplied operating-system and memory-type details are inconsistent and should be verified.
- Compatible accessories are included, but they are not original.
Best for: A buyer seeking a renewed Mac Studio with a stated 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD who has checked that the M1 Max fits their applications.
Not ideal for: Professionals who need the M5 Max generation, up to 128GB memory options, Thunderbolt 5, or dependable clarity on every listing detail.
- Chip:Apple M1 Max
- CPU:10-core
- GPU:24-core
- Memory:32GB RAM, as listed
- Storage:1TB SSD
- Color:Silver
- Weight:5.9 pounds, as listed
- Condition:Renewed; listing states inspected and tested
- Accessories:Compatible accessories included; not original
Our verdict“I would choose this renewed M1 Max only when its fixed 32GB and 1TB configuration fits the workload and the seller confirms the unclear details.”

How We Picked
I ranked these options as Mac Studio configurations, not as generic desktop computers. That means I focused on what separates the listed systems for a buyer: chip generation, stated memory and storage, connectivity, support, and how clearly the listing defines the machine being sold.
The two M5 Max products sit at the top because their descriptions specify a current professional platform, up to 128GB of memory, Thunderbolt 5 connectivity, and support for multiple displays. I place the AppleCare+ version first because it pairs that capability with three years of listed coverage. That is a meaningful ownership distinction, not evidence that its processor is faster than the other M5 Max. The standard listing follows closely and may be the more straightforward fit for buyers who do not want coverage bundled with the computer.
The renewed 2022 M1 Max ranks third because it has a clearly stated 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD, but does not offer the same stated memory ceiling or newer connectivity details as the M5 Max listings. It could still suit workloads that do not need the newer platform. I also account for uncertainty: the supplied details list macOS High Sierra and conflicting memory-type labels, details that should be verified rather than taken as a dependable description of a modern Mac Studio configuration. I do not infer benchmark results, exact prices, or unlisted upgrade options.
| mac studio configuration | Chip | Display support |
|---|---|---|
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop | Apple M5 Max | Up to five external displays, according to the listing |
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop | Apple M5 Max | Multiple external displays; exact count is not stated in the supplied description |
| 2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 | Apple M1 Max | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Mac Studio Configurations
I would compare Mac Studio configurations by the workload they need to support, then check whether the exact memory and storage build is stated. The chip name matters, but a configuration’s practical fit also depends on capacity, connections, included coverage, and listing reliability.Choose the chip generation around your workload
The two M5 Max configurations are the natural starting point for buyers running demanding media, graphics, development, or AI work. Their descriptions specify up to 128GB of memory, giving buyers a higher stated ceiling than the renewed M1 Max’s fixed 32GB. That does not make every M5 Max build the right choice: lighter office and home tasks may not use the extra capacity, while the newer listings do not identify the exact memory configuration in the supplied details.
The M1 Max remains a different kind of option. Its listed 10-core CPU, 24-core GPU, 32GB RAM, and 1TB SSD create a more defined starting point. Compare your applications’ memory needs and storage habits against those exact capacities. If you routinely work with larger projects or want the newer platform details, the M5 Max models are the safer direction; if your workload is contained and the renewed unit is verified, the M1 Max may be sufficient.
Treat memory and storage as separate decisions
“Up to 128GB” describes the maximum available configuration, not necessarily the memory included in the unit you select. I would confirm the chosen M5 Max build’s actual RAM capacity before ordering. Memory affects how comfortably a system handles large applications and simultaneous work; a high ceiling is useful only if the selected configuration includes enough for your workload.
Storage bandwidth and storage capacity are also different. The M5 Max listings mention bandwidth up to 614GB/s, but the supplied details do not state the exact SSD capacity. The renewed M1 Max clearly lists a 1TB SSD. If your working files need to stay on the internal drive, capacity should guide the decision alongside speed. If external storage fits your routine, the ports become part of that calculation.
Match ports and displays to the desk you already have
The M5 Max listings name Thunderbolt 5, USB-A, USB-C, HDMI, and SDXC. That combination can connect current high-speed accessories while keeping common devices and camera cards accessible. The AppleCare+ M5 Max listing specifically states support for up to five external displays; the other M5 Max description says multiple displays without giving the same exact count. If a multi-monitor setup is central to your work, check the relevant product’s exact display support before purchase.
The renewed M1 Max description does not provide a comparable detailed port list. Buyers relying on particular displays, docks, card readers, or high-speed storage should confirm the connections on the actual model rather than assume they match the newer listings. A small desktop can still require adapters if its ports do not match a studio’s equipment.
Decide whether bundled coverage is useful
The AppleCare+ listing’s clearest difference from the standard M5 Max is three years of listed coverage. I rank it first for buyers who value having that support attached to the configuration. The standard M5 Max is a close alternative for someone who already has a coverage plan or wants to handle support separately. The supplied descriptions do not establish that the machines differ in core chip capability.
Renewed condition calls for its own checks. The M1 Max listing says it was inspected and tested, but its accessories are compatible rather than original, and some system details are inconsistent. Before buying, confirm the condition terms, included items, return policy, and installed operating system. Those details have more weight here than they do when comparing two new M5 Max configurations with similar stated hardware.
Verify the exact configuration before ordering
For both M5 Max options, I would verify the selected memory and SSD capacities, display support, and the precise coverage included. For the renewed M1 Max, I would also ask for clarification on the macOS High Sierra entry and the conflicting memory-type labels. The listing’s mention of battery capacity is unusual for a desktop, so it deserves a direct check rather than an assumption.
These checks help prevent a common mismatch: choosing a model by chip name while overlooking the capacity or included support that determines day-to-day fit. The right Mac Studio configuration is the one whose confirmed build meets your workload, connects to your equipment, and has terms you are comfortable with.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Mac Studio configuration is my best overall pick?
I rank the M5 Max with AppleCare+ first because it combines the newer platform and up-to-128GB memory configurations with three years of coverage listed. Its advantage over the standard M5 Max listing is support, not a stated increase in chip performance. If you do not need bundled coverage, the standard M5 Max is a close alternative.
Are the two M5 Max Mac Studio listings different in performance?
The supplied descriptions identify an M5 Max chip in both listings and give similar memory and port details. They do not establish a performance difference between the two. The clearest listed distinction is AppleCare+ for three years on one option; buyers should also confirm the exact memory and SSD capacity in the build they select.
Is the renewed M1 Max Mac Studio still worth considering?
It may suit a buyer whose workload fits the listed 10-core CPU, 24-core GPU, 32GB RAM, and 1TB SSD. I would not choose it for the newer platform or connectivity described for the M5 Max systems. Because the renewed listing has inconsistent operating-system and memory details, confirm the actual hardware, installed system, included accessories, and return terms first.
How much memory should I choose for a Mac Studio?
I would base memory on the applications and project sizes you use at the same time, rather than treating the maximum as a requirement. The M5 Max listings offer configurations up to 128GB, but the supplied product details do not identify the exact capacity of a selected unit. The renewed M1 Max is listed with 32GB, so check that against your software’s demands before committing.
What should I verify before buying one of these configurations?
Confirm the exact memory and internal SSD capacity, since the M5 Max descriptions give ceilings or bandwidth figures rather than a selected capacity. Check display support and the ports needed for your desk, too. For the renewed M1 Max, ask about the macOS High Sierra entry, the conflicting memory labels, condition terms, and the non-original compatible accessories.
Conclusion
For a professional who wants a current platform and included coverage, I recommend the M5 Max with AppleCare+. If you want the M5 Max but prefer to arrange support separately, choose the standard M5 Max listing and confirm the exact memory and SSD build. For a buyer with a contained workload and a preference for a specified 32GB/1TB setup, the renewed M1 Max can fit, provided its inconsistent listing details are resolved before purchase. I would skip the renewed option when newer connectivity, greater stated memory headroom, or cleanly documented specifications are priorities.




